New friends – Like going back to school!

One of the main things that I wanted when moving out to Dubai was to make new friends. The thought of this is actually quite scary, going to Meetups and having to keep introducing yourself over and over. Its really funny, you know exactly what you will be asked out here:

  • Where are you from?
  • How long have you been living here?
  • Why did you move here?
  • What do you do?
  • Where do you live?
  • How long are you going to be here for?- well for me this question is irrelevant as I have only been here for one month and I never plan my life like that and never will put too much pressure and timelines on myself.

Image result for not sure?

You do, however get used to this and you can answer quite quickly and then ask them the same.

Recently I went to a female Meetup group and I went with the intention to talk about Project beauty and would hope some of these women would be open to become friends and get to know each other. When I arrived everyone was very warm and genuinely interested in hearing your story and getting to know you.  I felt like I was going to school for the first time, an felt relaxed once I arrived so it was not as bad as I imagined. I’ve never had a huge problem in meeting new people as I used to do it for work  regularly so I know how to prevent those awkward silences etc.

Since this networking event I have already met up with four of the thirty girls that I met and I hope to meet with some  more and create a strong friendship group. One of the girls I have met a few times is from LA and called Nancy (very funny and has a fab personality) she recently invited me to go to Abu Dabi next weekend, cant wait!

So ladies… and gents, go for it. If you want to meet different people outside your working environment I suggest you download the ‘Meetup’ app and you can also create your own group. This is very important to learn and grow as a person and surround yourself by people from all different back grounds.

Enjoy your weekend!

 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

