Think Positive- Be Positive

I recently had quite a few people ask me about my journey out to Dubai. So I thought it would make sense to use it as my ‘subject’ in my next Vlog and in my blog.

So let me take you to where it all began back to December 2016….

I was working as a business development manager for a new skin care brand (I wont name names) and to all my family and friends it seemed like I had finally made it, earning a very large salary and driving a BMW. Far from it!

There was a major thing missing, that we all look for in life…. Happiness.

For me having a nice car and a well paid salary didn’t cut the mustard and it didn’t give me fulfilment. I hope this doesn’t sound like I was ungrateful, this job just wasn’t for me and I learnt that, what I actually wanted was to feel happy in myself. Being in the beauty industry you are surrounded by beautiful people but you can also meet people that will be fake and just out for themselves. I made a promise to myself this year (my 30th) to cut ties and contact with anyone that didn’t bring the best out in me. When I did this it felt so good and I felt that I was back on track and ready for bigger and better things.

The Job hunt– I needed to be in different surroundings and meet different people. Most importantly I wanted to feel the sun on my skin and the sand in between my toes. I started looking at positions in the Caribbean as I looked at working on Necker island  as a therapist for a girl I knew. Unfortunately the positon became unavailable as the girl that was leaving decided to stay. I had many interviews with lots of different places Greece, France, Italy, Dubai (for another positon) but none of them stood out or made me feel excited. Finally I receive a call for a spa manager role to set up and run a chain is different beauty concepts- Now your talking!

I really wanted this position so much that I started doing my affirmations (check out the link if you don’t know what they are) I would do them consciously and unconsciously and then I received a WhatsApp confirmation that I got the job. I was over the moon and couldn’t contain my excitement so called my favourite person in the world, my mum.

In the final weeks leading up to moving some of my friends and some family were telling me ‘oh you wont be able to drink’ and ‘no public nudity and you will get arrested if you are’ (also for those that don’t know me I don’t streak in public in the UK either)  these comments made me angry and frustrated. I ignored them, they were ignorant and had just been based on ‘what they heard’ and not on actual experiences as they haven’t been here to be entitled to make a comment!

Image result for positive quotes

Since I have been here my attitude is more positive than before and I have met mainly positive people!

If you have something that you have always wanted to do and have been too scared to do it. Step out of your comfort zone and go for it, you don’t want to wake up old and grey and full of regret.

If you liked my blog please give me a thumbs up and check out:

my FaceBook page- Beauty By B E X

my Instagram @bexgar1

my YouTube channel Beauty By B E X- Check out positive vibes

 

Thanks for reading,

See you soon

 

xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

